Working With Your Editor by Larisa Hunter

I don’t know if all of our editors do this, but I am sure if you ask Taylor for ones that do he would be glad to get you in touch with them.

My editor is Jaymi Elford who is in my opinion absolutely fabulous! However, I was not aware until I asked Taylor that your editor can help you long before your book is ready for final edit. Jaymi is helping me right now with my second book because as an author I felt that I was loosing focus in places and needed a second set of eyes to help me fine tune various parts!

When I asked her if I could suggest this for other authors, Jaymi had this to say:

“I would recommend that what you suggest to our authors is that they have an alpha list of readers, people they trust (this can include their editor) that can read over the draft before submission and give high level comments. I would HIGHLY suggest that all our authors give a book synopsis when they turn in their “final” drafts to editors. This really does help me focus edits and try to get the book to become what you want, rather than poking around in the dark and spending a week or two trying to figure out what the message/topic is.  In going forward, every book I edit will be required to have a synopsis.”

She also suggested that authors look into a program called Scrivener- “Scrivener is a powerful content-generation tool for writers that allows you to concentrate on composing and structuring long and difficult documents. While it gives you complete control of the formatting, its focus is on helping you get to the end of that awkward first draft.” I am highly considering getting this software based on her strong recommendation on how useful it is for writers. For the $40.00 USD it is not that badly priced either.

I think that authors should take advantage of this process! Check with Taylor if your editor is willing to do the same, or like Jaymi suggests, collect some trusted allies to help you work through the book, sometimes the more advanced work you do on your book can result in a greater book and a smoother editing process for both editor and author. So, don’t think you have to wait until your final draft is complete before you get a second pair of eyes, you can get help as you go!

You can find more info about Scrivener here: http://www.literatureandlatte.com/scrivener.php

To find out if your editor or if Taylor can connect you to someone that might be able to help please contact him on FB or by email!

We appreciate your feedback! All comments are responded to as quickly as possible!

